Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 01:35 20 Sep 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : RP2350 firmware

     Page 1 of 16    
Author Message
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8855
Posted: 03:18pm 19 Aug 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Here is a couple of hack binaries for those of you with RP2350 to play with


PicoMiteVGA.zip

PicoMite.zip

mm.device$ will tell you if you have a rp2350a or rp2350b

Next job is to replace the VGA logic with HDMI and see if I can get that working
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8855
Posted: 04:30pm 19 Aug 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Here is my HDMI test program. You can use this to test your HDMI setups. Will run on RP2350A or B


TestHDMI.zip


10 seconds of each mode

Mode 1: 640x480x2 colours with foreground and background tiles (down to 8x8)

Mode 2: 320x480x16 colours with rectangle displayed on top layer

Mode 3: 640x480x16 colours

Mode 4: 320x240x256 colours with rectangle displayed on top layer

Mode 5: 640x480x4 colours with additional 4 colours available for layer showing rectangle

Mode 6: 320x240x16777216 colours. NB: this might disappear in real code

Mode 7: 320x240x65536 colours. NB: probably good enough to remove mode 6

Note in the case of tiles, and 4,16,and 256 colour modes. The user will be able to specify their own colour mappings with RGB888 (16777216) colour choices.
 
Martin H.

Guru

Joined: 04/06/2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 1037
Posted: 04:30pm 19 Aug 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

wow, thats fast ...  
cant wait for my RP2350  to be shipped
'no comment
 
gadgetjack
Senior Member

Joined: 15/07/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 134
Posted: 08:29pm 19 Aug 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I received the Seeed RP2350 mini module. Can the HDMI pins be changed or are they set in stone? The pico2 boards are not ready to ship yet. If not , I can wait.
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6375
Posted: 08:59pm 19 Aug 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I'm just gazing happily at one of my two Pico 2s flashing its heartbeat LED. :)

The DVI/HDMI pins are fixed as GPIO 12 to 19. The Datasheet makes no mention of there being any alternative mapping. They are a part of the HSTX module.
.
Edited 2024-08-20 07:01 by Mixtel90
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6008
Posted: 09:48pm 19 Aug 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Peter,
Can you give me the exact output of mm.device$ for each variant so I can add them to MMEdit.
It might be a while before I have any modules to play with.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
gadgetjack
Senior Member

Joined: 15/07/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 134
Posted: 12:38am 20 Aug 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The nearest I can get them is in 3 weeks for the full pico 2.
 
PhenixRising
Guru

Joined: 07/11/2023
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 658
Posted: 10:51am 20 Aug 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Got the "Tiny 2350" running @378MHz and with the quadrature PIO code      

Many, many thanks, Pete.

No encoder attached, yet so not sure if actually reading but it didn't complain.
 
Bleep
Guru

Joined: 09/01/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 468
Posted: 12:35pm 20 Aug 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Have connected one up to a ILI9481 display and a SD card, running at 378MHz without a hitch. Havent got a HDMI break out yet, to try your HDMI demo, maybe later.
Thanks for getting this all going. :-)
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8855
Posted: 02:53pm 20 Aug 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Progress




NB: as discussed elsewhere GP12 to GP19 are not available as these are dedicated to the HSTX peripheral and can't be changed. CPU speed is fixed at 252MHz. The HSTX peripheral can only run at power-of-2 multiples of the CPU speed.
To get this to work I've disabled tiles and other small bits and still haven't enabled the extra pins on the 80-pin chip or implemented the other graphics modes yet so still a fair bit to do.
The underlying graphics will be 640x480x15bits running RGB555. This keeps the bus bandwidth to half of RGB888 and still allows 32 true grey scale levels if that is the sort of thing you want



Running on my little HDMI adapter board GBP20 for 5 fully built from JLC


Gerber_PCB1_2024-08-20.zip

BOM_Board1_PCB1_2024-08-20.zip




Image quality is excellent, here editing in mode 2

Edited 2024-08-21 01:03 by matherp
 
lew247

Guru

Joined: 23/12/2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1689
Posted: 03:14pm 20 Aug 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Peter You probably know this already but have you seen this about the HSTX interface?

  Quote  The Raspberry Pi RP2040’s PIOs were used to create DVI, VGA, and composite video outputs, but in the RP2350 board the programmable I/O blocks may be freed, and the HSTX interface used instead. While you could use the Raspberry Pi Pico 2 to play around with the HSTX interface, you’d have some soldering to do, and a more convenient way to be started is getting a board like the RP2xxx Stamp Carrier XL in combination with the R2350 Stamp module since it exposes the HSTX interface through a micro HDMI port.
 
Bleep
Guru

Joined: 09/01/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 468
Posted: 03:38pm 20 Aug 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Have now got the HDMI demo working using an Adafruit break out board.
Tried it first on a large screen TV and got nothing, then tried a monitor and it worked fine, so some TV's may not be happy.
 
Bleep
Guru

Joined: 09/01/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 468
Posted: 04:01pm 20 Aug 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

That's a real shame that the HDMI version will be limited to 252MHz :-(
So we will need to use the LCD version to get the full use of any performance gains, from frequency above 252, on top of the processor speed improvements.
Oh well there are always compromises.
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6375
Posted: 04:03pm 20 Aug 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I/m confused. The crystal frequency is 12MHz.
252MHz / 12MHz is 21. That isn't a power of 2.
384MHz / 12MHz is 32. That *is* a power of 2.

This is probably something to do with PLLs or something confusing like that.
Mind you, I'm easily confused. :)
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8855
Posted: 04:17pm 20 Aug 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The system clock can be tuned to a wide range of frequencies. However, the HSTX clock can only be a power of 2 division of the system clock. As the chip won't run at 504MHz then 252 is the best we can do
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6375
Posted: 04:28pm 20 Aug 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Good job I got used to using VGA at 252MH then. :)
This is looking really nice!

I loaded the ordinary Pico 2 firmware last night. It's running beautifully but I've not had time to do much yet. Too busy playing with SL6.

Your little board is neat. It looks like the same HDMI socket that I'm going to attempt to solder. Eek!
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8855
Posted: 05:11pm 20 Aug 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Try this on the TV. Change to 640x480 @ 73Hz. Also means the CPU runs at 315MHz rather than 252MHz


TestHDMI.zip
 
robert.rozee
Guru

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2335
Posted: 05:41pm 20 Aug 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

hi Peter,
   moving to DVI could be a good opportunity to also upgrade the font used in the editor. have a look here:
http://www.fial.com/~scott/tamsyn-font/

there is an 8x15 version of this font, where (most) characters are 6-pixels wide (ie, 2 pixel spacing between letters). this makes text far more readable than the current 7-pixel width (with just a single pixel between letters). there are also proper descenders!





cheers,
rob   :-)
Edited 2024-08-21 03:43 by robert.rozee

Footnote added 2024-08-21 18:23 by robert.rozee
see also:
https://github.com/sunaku/tamzen-font/tree/master
for another version derived from Scott Fial's work. there are also 7-pixel wide versions that could be widened (by the addition of an extra column of blank pixels) that look extremely good.
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1867
Posted: 07:42pm 20 Aug 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I got to wait until December for rp2 boards. It's frustrating can't participate.
mmbasic must have popularised rpi. ie more sales, do the mmbasic developers have any special communication with the rpi guys?
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6375
Posted: 08:32pm 20 Aug 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I don't think there's any arrangement whatsoever, Stan! In fact, RPi don't seen to even acknowledge that MMBasic even exists. :(

I was lucky and got a pre-order in for a couple of Pico 2s as soon as I saw the announcement. I think it's the first time in my life that I've been one of the first to get something that didn't turn out to be horrible. I'm making the most of it. :)

The PGA2650 is available AFAIK, a is the other little board. It's the Pico 2 that's slow arriving at the moment. The PGA2650 isn't stripboard friendly in the least. :(


=============


Well, VGA seems to be working. I ended up having to make a new breakout board for it though - couldn't find my "wire ends" lead. :(

.
Edited 2024-08-21 07:17 by Mixtel90
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
     Page 1 of 16    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2024